Understanding Stages Of Prenatal Development

When it comes to the development of the child, child development takes place when an infant is born. The prenatal period is also considered a part of infancy. It is a period of the developmental process. Prenatal development is a time of remarkable change. This period influences the psychological development of a person and this stage is considered to be a very important phase, and it is in the early years of childhood. Let us take a close look, in the events which take place after a child is born. The prenatal stages have three phases. The three stages are very important. These happen during the three phases. The first two weeks of contraception is known as the germinal stage, the third through the eighth week is known as the embryonic age and this is the stage when the embryo develops. The ninth week is characterized by fetal stage.

Stages Of Prenatal Development
Stages Of Prenatal Development

Germinal Stage

This stage begins at the conception when the egg and sperm cells unite in one of the two fallopian tubes. The fertilized egg is known as zygote then moves towards the uterus, a journey that takes it’s way up to the uterus. The process of cell division and growth take place. Through the process of mitosis, the zygote first divides the two cells. It develops into four, eight and sixteen. A significant number of zygotes, surviving less than two weeks which is entering the tube is present. Once the eight-cell point has been reached and the cells begin to differentiate. When the cells multiply, they will also separate into distinctive masses that will determine the types of cell that will eventually become. As the cells multiply, they will also separate among distinctive masses, the outer cells will eventually become the placenta while the inner cells will form the embryo. Cell division continues by a different process, and it takes place rapidly and the cells now develop what is known as a blastocyst.

Stages Of Prenatal Development
Stages Of Prenatal Development

Layers of blastocyst

  • The ectoderm, which will become the nervous system and the skin.
  • The endoderm, it constitutes of the respiratory and digestive systems.
  • The mesoderm, this constitutes the muscles and the skeletal systems.

Fetal stage

This is a stage which is also a very important stage. This period of development marks the beginning and it marks more important changes. It begins in the ninth week and it also lasts until birth. The early body systems and structures are in the embryonic stage. The neural tube is related to different things. The early body structures and the neural structure form the brain and the spinal cords and neurons continue the forms. Once these neurons have formed, they begin to migrate to the current locations. Synapses, connections between neurons, also begin to develop. These also begin to develop. It is between 9th to 12th weeks at the earliest reflexes, hands and feet begin to develop. The fetus begins to develop and the sex organs begin to emerge. It weighs around three ounces. The fetus begins to weigh three ounces and begins to develop physically and increases in weight and height.


Although the majority of the physical growth increases, This happens in the later stage of pregnancy. At the end of the third month, a lot of things develop. The brain and central development also become more responsive during the second trimester. Around the 28 weeks, the brain starts to mature faster with an activity which denotes the weight and the other characteristics of the brain.  There are certain stages of development of the child which makes him an adult.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter